Trekking Permits, Fees

Heritage Sites, Museums, and Zoos

Entrance fees must be paid before entering UNESCO world heritage sites around Kathmandu Valley like Bhaktapur Durbar Square, Patan Durbar Square, Kathmandu Durbar Square, Boudhanath, Swayambhunath, and Changu Narayan Temple.

Similarly, it is mandatory to pay entrance fees before touring Lumbini Gardens, the sanctuary of the Mayadevi Temple, the birthplace of Lord Buddha, in Lumbini, Rupandehi.

Entrance fees must be paid to local museums, the Central Zoo in Jawalakhel, Lalitpur, and museums in Kathmandu Valley.

Trekkers’ Information Management Systems (TIMS)

It is obligatory to acquire a Trekkers’ Information Management Systems (TIMS) Card before the trekker's onset for their trek.

The TIMS Card has been mandatory to control illegal trekking operations and ensure the safety and security of the trekkers in the general trekking areas, which helps to store the database of visitors' recordings and their would-be whereabouts for their safety. 

Fees, a passport copy, and a passport-size photograph are required to obtain a TIMS card from the Tourist Service Center, Bhrikutimandap, the Trekking Agencies Association Nepal (TAAN) Office in Maligaon, and government-registered trekking companies in Kathmandu and Pokhara.

Each visitor who goes trekking must pay US$20 per trekking route per person per entry in equivalent Nepali rupees only. Part of the collection will go into maintaining the trekkers’ database and the rescue of trekkers in need of emergency services.

Trekking Permit

Special trekking permits are required to access the trekking zones in Nepal, as most of them fall under certain restricted lands.

You can acquire them from the Department of Immigration, Kalikasthan, Kathmandu, which costs 3,000 NPR per person per entry, payable in Nepali cash only.


Royalties must be paid at the Tourism Industry Division, Ministry of Culture, Tourism, and Civil Aviation, Bhrikutimandap, Kathmandu, or at the Nepal Mountaineering Association at Naxal, Kathmandu, before starting on a mountaineering expedition or to summit the peak. 

National Parks/ Wildlife Reserves/ Conservations

The entry fee has to be compulsorily paid to enter the 20 conservation areas in Nepal that have been divided into national parks, wildlife reserves, conservation areas, and hunting reserves.

Hunting in Nepal is completely banned, except in the Dhorpatan Hunting Reserve. To hunt in this protected area, one must be a licensed holder.